Congrats to the April Best of the Month winners!

best of month final

The voters have spoken!  Congratulations to our two Best of the Month winners.  In art, our Best of the Month award goes to Steven Fraser’s comic book poem “Truth”, and in literature we have the essay “Everlasting” by Lydia Bussey! Read more about their pieces below, and click on the links to view their work!

Art: Truth, by Steven Fraser.  Click here to view his piece.

I am a multimedia artist and writer who likes to experiment with different media including illustration, sequential art and poetry. “Truth” is a Comic Book Poem and an investigation into comic book storytelling and the possibilities of visual poetry. The illustration was created using marker pens on watercolour paper. I added thread and a needle to the page to give a level of authenticity and to further express the themes of the words written on the page. The content of “Truth” looks at the frustrated ways in which someone can exploit different methods to express themselves. The comic is short,succinct and to the point.

~ Steven Fraser

Literature: Everlasting, by Lydia Bussey.  Click here to view her piece.

Do you know that feeling you get in the pit of your stomach when something terrible happens? Do you know how it feels when the searing pain migrates through your body shutting everything down? Everything stops: Your hope stops, your faith fades, you wonder how long it will be until your heart stops. You don’t care about anything anymore so you just go through the motions numb and lifeless. That feeling is impossible to overcome alone. You need support, you need help, and I’ve found that. I have found the hope, life, and everlasting love one needs. I found God. He is the breath of life and the small whispers of assurance when I stumble. He is the hand that wipes the painful tears from my face. He is the light that leads me through the darkest parts of life. He is always there. That awful feeling in the pit of my stomach is gone, and is replaced by the overwhelming joy in my heart. I found life everlasting. I found God. He is Everlasting. He is my inspiration.

~ Lydia Bussey

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Truth Won!!!!! | Comic Book Poems

  2. Pingback: Thanks from Comic Book Poems | Comic Book Poems

Leave a comment